Community Weekends

In recent blogs I have focussed on much of the ‘newness’ of my second year of theology studies: new classes, new ministries such as RCIA and the Spiritual Exercises in Daily Life, new formation opportunities in preaching and preached retreats. One area of life that has been – thankfully – constant is the life-giving and joyful community life we live here in Boston.

Like last year, my community and I had a wonderful ‘villa’ (holiday) weekend. Like last year we headed to the mountains, staying in Maine and going on a wonderful hike in nature. We even kept up the noble tradition of a full English breakfast cooked by myself to send us back to Boston fully refreshed and ready to continue the life of study.

Back in Boston, and as the Fall turned towards winter, we had another memorable Thanksgiving celebration. I continued my contribution of roasting carrots (75 of them!) and also tried a new recipe for French onion gravy to accompany the turkeys cooked in a variety of ways by my American brothers. Like last year we enjoyed an evening talent show, as well as a game of American Thanksgiving Football earlier in the day.

Such moments of celebration are vital in religious life, giving us a moment to celebrate the culture that is hosting us and its immense generosity, as well as allowing us to spend quality time together, building lasting friendships with those who we are growing together as friends in the Lord, in the Society of Jesus.

Leave a comment